Embracing Silence: The Best Trait I Have

Calmness is from the inside.

Ahmad Hamzeh
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readMar 17, 2024

--

People often associate silence with awkwardness, assuming a silent person is uncomfortable or shy. However, as much as this is true in many cases, this shouldn’t be generalized to all.

I was a shy person at first, but then I grew up to embrace and maintain this trait even after overcoming social anxiety.

I don’t try to talk much, rather I try to make the person in front of me fill all the gaps they can, and I do so by listening and making the conversation about them.

By focusing on them, I can learn as much as possible, particularly when conversing with someone I find interesting. Moreover, they will respect that I’m listening and focusing on what they say.

Valuable Trait: Being a good listener.

Listening Is the Key to Rapport

Rapport is the connection two people form after reaching a certain flow of cognitive agreement. Once in that state, you’ll see yourself connecting with others on another level.

When Tony Robbins was asked about rapport, he told the audience that one of the methods to build rapport is “Matching and mirroring.”

--

--

Ahmad Hamzeh
ILLUMINATION

Civil Engineer | SEO Copywriter / Content Creator - I Write Strategic Copy That'll Grow Your Audience.