How to Make Your Enemy Love You

He boots you out and steals your heart

Britni Pepper
ILLUMINATION
Published in
6 min readJul 14, 2020

--

Kemal on Chunuk (CC image by Jorge Láscar)

The GPS hiccupped and told me to turn left off the motorway. I glanced at my companion sleeping beside me. It had been a long day taking the dawn flight out of Heathrow, picking up the car at Ataturk Airport in Istanbul, and then braving the roads crowded with Turks and truck drivers from all over, none of them generous with the right of way to a couple of tourists on the wrong side of the road.

We had stopped for lunch and he had faded away, handing me the driving and sinking into almost immediate slumber. “Just follow the GPS,” he said.

And I did. Even when it led me astray.

To be accurate, there was a huge dogleg in our route, and the GPS had just cut the corner onto local roads.

Rolling through the rural

Naturally, the motion of our rental car changed from the fast and straight motorway, albeit with more potholes than I was used to on a major highway, and I was swooping up and down hills, racing round country corners, and generally having a wonderful time amongst the hills and fields.

Say what you like about America’s Interstates, but motorway driving is divorced from reality. It’s boring.

--

--

Britni Pepper
ILLUMINATION

Whimsical explorer: Britni maps the wide world and human heart with a twinkle in her eye, daring you to find magic in the everyday.