Enlightened

What does it mean to be ‘enlightened’?

Bob Jasper
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Sage Friedman on Unsplash

This is day 4 of my spiritual journey during Lent. I know, we are two weeks into Lent, but I got a late start. Forgive my tardiness. I’ll try to make it up.

Seeing the challenge to write a story or poem using the prompt “enlightenment,” that Simran Kankas put out recently on Spiritual Tree, I did what I usually do. I googled it, and up came the following definition:

“1: the act or means of enlightening: the state of being enlightened.”

Really!? That’s very enlightening!

Seriously, that’s what a dictionary gave as the first definition. I don’t know about you, but my English teacher taught us never to use the word or its derivatives in the definition.

To be fair, dictionary said:

“3: Buddhism: a final blessed state marked by the absence of desire or suffering.”

That’s more like it.

According to Wikipedia,Enlightenment is the full comprehension of a situation.”

My understanding from 3 above is that Buddhists seek to attain such a state.

I can imagine what life without suffering would look like. Who wouldn’t want that? Thankfully, most of my life I’ve lived with little suffering. Considering my age, that…

--

--

Bob Jasper
ILLUMINATION

My Muse is in hiding, but we cross paths from time to time. I think I gave the old guy too much grief. Maybe he quit without notice.