Everyone is Leaving Medium But I’m Sticking Around (and Here’s Why)

This is my cozy little virtual home.

Nitin Sharma
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Kalen Emsley on Unsplash

These days, I’m noticing a lot of issues on Medium.

Top writers are leaving the platform (the writers who built the platform’s credibility in the first place), the algorithm keeps changing in ways that seem to favor just a small group of writers, and then there’s the puzzling launch of Boost.

Let me explain it to you with an example.

I used to follow writers like Nick Wignall, Jessica Wildfire, and Tom Kuegler— but they’ve all left Medium now. Nick Wignall even went so far as to delete all his past posts from the site entirely.

Src: Nick Wignall Medium Profile

The reason? He just got too fed up with the algorithm constantly shifting in ways that hurt his traffic and payouts.

But it’s not just the big names leaving.

I’ve noticed a steady stream of smaller individuals that I referred to Medium also leaving over the past year.

Yes, people I personally brought onto the platform are now fleeing it.

--

--