Explore The Underrated Beauty of Kraków, Poland

Mimi Abroad
ILLUMINATION
Published in
6 min readSep 8, 2023

--

A timeless city in central Europe.

Mały Rynek, Kraków, Poland | Photo by Author

Kraków is a city that holds a special place in my heart.

Although I spent most of my life an ocean away from this cherished city, the spirit of how I felt during my first visit has always stayed with me.

The cobblestone streets, the architectural style of the buildings, the cuisine, the nature. Everything about Kraków always drew me in.

Since that moment, I knew this was the city for me.

Before I moved to Poland from the USA, I often asked people around me what they knew about Kraków, and most of the time, I was met with a questioning look.

“What’s Kraków?” they would ask.

It never ceased to amaze me that there were people who did not know about this enchanting medieval city. It became a hidden gem of mine, a place to protect and take pride in.

However, if I were to share this sentiment with Polish people, they would often look at me as if I had three eyes. I’ve observed that many Polish people tend to overlook the beauty within their daily surroundings.

--

--

Mimi Abroad
ILLUMINATION

Earth sciences student, traveler, dreamer, lover. Follow me on my journey as I write about life experiences, vulnerability, traveling, and much more.