Exploring Opportunities To Reflect

The Story of Improvement and Appreciation

Zai
ILLUMINATION
3 min readJul 14, 2024

--

Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

Despite my busy schedule, I am pleased to share my journey with you. I hope you enjoy reading it.

A New Chapter

I’m Zai, a 23-year-old writer still finding purpose in life.

In May 2020, I began to express my writing gradually on Instagram, but I stopped in December 2023.

Leaving this role was difficult because I had created a space I was proud of. Writing has become an integral part of my life, prompting my return to Medium.

Medium has provided a comforting platform for my new writing journey. I became curious about various publications, particularly ILLUMINATION.

My Journey with ILLUMINATION

Photo by JOHN TOWNER on Unsplash

Joining ILLUMINATION marked the beginning of a new chapter in my writing career.

The publication utilized Slack for community interaction, allowing me to share my work with a broader audience.

This opportunity showcased my potential and motivated me to continue growing as a writer.

One of the most significant aspects of this experience has been the connections made with fellow writers on Slack.

Engaging with individuals who share similar interests in writing has been immensely enriching.

I encountered diverse personalities, writing styles, and inspirations that have been instrumental in my development.

Support, Guide, Lead

Inspired by the support I received from the community, I decided to give back by becoming an active member and moderating the communication platform.

This role ensured that other writers received the support and guidance they needed.

On April 22, 2024, Dr. Mehmet Yildiz appointed me as the lead moderator of ILLUMINATION.

This leadership position has been one of the most rewarding experiences of my year, enabling me to engage deeply with our community.

Supporting and guiding fellow writers has been a privilege, helping them navigate their journeys and achieve their writing goals.

This experience has not only benefited my personal development but has also highlighted the importance of community and collaboration in writing.

Rewarding Experiences

Photo by Kirt Morris on Unsplash

"I think appreciation is a wonderful thing. It makes what is excellent in others belong to us as well." – Voltaire

On May 21, 2024, I began working at a leading pharmacy in the Philippines.

Balancing my new job, my passion for writing, and my responsibilities as a lead moderator has been challenging yet rewarding.

Despite the challenges, I find time to write and support the publication’s community.

Assisting fellow writers after a long day at work is fulfilling and brings me great joy.

I remain committed to supporting this publication, which has provided me with significant opportunities.

I am grateful for how Medium, Dr Mehmet Yildiz and ILLUMINATION have revitalized my writing and helped me improve myself.

--

--