EXPOSED! Why I Took a Break from Medium

Awareness and Taking a Pause is a Mindset Shift for Growth.

Melinda Van Fleet
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Alexndr Podvalny via Pexels

My last article on Medium was on February 3, 2021.

February seems like ages ago. I used my fingers to count, almost eight months.

I was writing regularly, for the most part, during 2020. I was excited to be part of the platform, engaging in other writer’s articles and filled with inspiration.

Then…

My excitement stopped.

My desire to write on Medium came to a big fat tire-screeching halt. The kind of tires you see on monster trucks crushing smaller cars for fun on a Friday night in a small town.

Every time I pulled up the platform, I was either sad, frustrated, angered, or disgusted.

The number of articles meant to drive traffic was insane. Where were the positive articles? Something that was inspiring? Fuel my soul! Light me up! Something to share for the greater good?

Am I crazy for desiring that type of content? On the other hand, maybe I am old-fashioned and need to “get with the times.”

But my feed was full of political articles, Covid-19 related articles, and anything sexual from threesomes to rape. Even today, when I pulled up the platform…

--

--

Melinda Van Fleet
ILLUMINATION

A writer, and energetic life & business mentor/coach, who believes in magic, taking action consistently and that contrarians can change the world!