Facing Reality is Tough, but Necessary!

If we want to evolve, facing harsh realities can push us to become better versions of ourselves.

David Pereira
ILLUMINATION
Published in
5 min readJul 13, 2020

--

It was a cold winter day in February this year. I woke up sad because my wife had to fly to Moscow. I didn’t feel well about it. Somehow I knew what was about to happen. I got emotional. I did my best to remain stable without any success. The trip was supposed to be only for a couple of weeks. However, life decided to be hard with us. Until this month (July 2020), we are still apart.

A series of events brought us this tough situation. It all started when we got married last Summer in Germany. Being a foreign couple (Brazil and Russia), we knew that paperwork would take some time. However, we underestimated the complexity of it.

In February, my wife went to Moscow to finish the last bureaucratic steps. Not surprisingly, it took longer than expected. Long enough to face the Covid-19 outbreak, meaning that Europe entered in a full lockdown in March. Such event left me alone in Munich, working from home without contacting anyone, while my wife was locked in Russia.

“Sometimes life is going to hit you in the head with a brick. Don’t lose faith.” — Steve Jobs

--

--

David Pereira
ILLUMINATION

I don't write on Medium anymore. Find my content at Untrapping Product Teams https://dpereira.substack.com/