Fake Accounts Are Ruining Writers’ Reputations and Trust on the Platform

Scammers Cloned My Main Account Again. Call to Action to Mitigate Risks and Threats to Writers, Readers, and the Platform

Dr Mehmet Yildiz (Tech)
ILLUMINATION
Published in
6 min readJul 14, 2024

--

Photo by Tima Miroshnichenko fromPexels

Here we go again, dear readers. Scammers have cloned my main account Dr Mehmet Yildiz, again and started spamming my stories. They have done this countless times to my account with a bigger following. They might have assumed that I might be a celebrity writer. But touch wood, they did not do this to my secondary and publication accounts with fewer followers. So, they act strategically.

Despite their massive attacks to many established writers, unfortunately, Medium still hasn’t found a solution to this issue, which can lead to scams and even cybersecurity threats, as seen with the recent AT&T breach affecting millions. I felt compelled to write about this, especially as someone who was scammed badly, losing a significant portion of my retirement funds.

If a tech giant like AT&T can be breached…

--

--

Dr Mehmet Yildiz (Tech)
ILLUMINATION

Executive Technology Consultant and Cognitive Scientist focusing on tech, business, and leadership. Founder of ILLUMINATION https://digitalmehmet.com