Fantasies of Time Travel

Mansi Parmar
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readJul 14, 2024
Image created using the Canva App.

Have you ever had a thought about experiencing time travel? Have you ever wondered about seeing events that have already happened or might happen in the future? Well, I’m thinking about it because time travel is something I’m really interested in.

After watching numerous videos about time travel on various platforms, my mind started to wander into imagining my own time travel adventure. I envision myself sitting inside a time machine, dialing in the year I wish to visit, and embarking on an extraordinary journey through time.

I’m not sure if time travel like in the ‘Dark’ series is possible, but I often imagine what I would do if given the chance. I would love to revisit the cherished moments of my childhood, reconnect with old friends, and relive those precious experiences. I’m also curious about the future and what it holds.

The most useful form of time travel would be to go back a year or two and rectify the mistakes we made. -Matt Lucas

However, I know that changing even one thing could have big effects, making things happen in ways we might not expect. That’s why I’d be careful not to make that kind of mistake. For example, if someone went back and changed a famous invention, like the first light bulb, it could change how we use electricity today. It might affect everything from how we light our homes to how industries operate. Every big invention has a lot of effects that shape our lives, so if we could time travel, we’d need to think hard about what might happen if we change something.

The idea of time slowing down near a black hole, like in movies such as ‘Interstellar’, really grabs my attention. I often think about whether time and aging could work the same way in reality. The idea that time could slow down a lot near a black hole’s strong gravity really amazed me! It makes us rethink our usual idea that time always passes at the same rate. This concept not only interests scientists but also makes us think deeply about the meaning of time itself.

I hope that one day we might actually be able to travel through time and see the most incredible inventions humans have ever made. Imagine being able to go back and see when the first airplane flew or when people first invented the wheel. Traveling through time could let us experience all the cool technology and inventions from different times in history. It’s exciting to think about how time travel might help us learn more about human creativity and how far we’ve come in making new things.

Time travel is fascinating because it’s the ultimate ‘what if’.

--

--