Favourite Coffee Cup !

But I don’t like coffee. (Don’t judge me for this)

Eisha
ILLUMINATION
4 min readNov 24, 2021

--

Photo by ORNELLA BINNI on Unsplash

Okay so before you judge me for not liking coffee, let me tell you that this story is about 15 years ago when I was a child. And I hated coffee because my taste buds declared it to be bitter in taste.

As I grew up, my mind convinced the taste buds that there are things in the world which are much more bitter than coffee.

Coffee then became beautiful. Relaxing!

I am a coffee addict now.

For which I am trying not to be.

So one day my father took me to a grocery store. I was 7 years old. Shy to strangers but adamant for my parents. This was hard to play, though. While loitering between the racks, I saw a pretty orange coloured coffee mug. It had yellow thin stripes. And in front was a face of a teddy bear, black in colour. As I recall, I wonder who would have designed it to be like that. It was heavy for me to hold it in my small hands. My father saw me and placed it in my hands. I felt happy and sophesticated. I asked him to buy it. My father then inquired to the staff for it’s price and durabilty. It was expensive. He told me that since I didn’t like coffee what could I use it for. Besides, there is already one mug at home for me for drinking milk. On top of it, it was heavy even when empty, how will I drink from it when it would be filled. But as I said I was shy and obedient only for strangers, I had convinced (forced) him to purchase it for me. As the staff person packed it in a box and gave it to me, I felt happy and rich!

At home my mother suggested to keep it safely in the cupboard so that we can gift it to some friend or relative. It was too much expensive to be used in-house. She knew her daughter well. Her attempt failed subtly.

I do remember father being scolded slightly for accepting absurd demands of their children and making them more stubborn.

Anyway, I was loving the mug. I was using it more than 3 times a day. Due to which my fluid intake had also increased. Water, juice, choco-milk, everything was been drunk from it. After 4 or 5 days, while I was bringing my coffee cup filled with my favourite orange juice from the kitchen, I stumbled upon a side table unsurprisingly kept in the centre of the room. I fell on the sofa but my cup fell on the floor after spending a minute rotating in the air. The breaking sound was loud. Not of the cup, but of my heart. I cried whole night. Today I wonder how could I be so dramatic.

After few days, I had forgotten the incident and was normal again.

All these years went by and just last Sunday I happened to clean the store room with my mother. And you know what I found? You got it right! My favourite coffee cup. The box was as it was when the staff person had handed over it to me in the grocery store. I opened it and found the broken cup kept safely in it. Mother said she had kept it for it was so dear to me. Moreover, it’s her habit to keep every thing in safe custody, be it new or broken.

I held it in my palms which now are spacious and strong. I noticed it had 1 big crack and the edges were shattered. I instantly went into my room and let my creativity pour out onto it.

I filled the crack with silver glitter with the help of glue. And decorated the broken edges with colourful flowers that I had made from straws. I have kept it on my study table as a holder for pens, pencils and other stationary stuff.

I felt mature and proud!

Photo by PM Shamika on Unsplash

Broken things can’t be fixed. Be it relationships, trust, dreams, hopes or anything else. But the remainder can definitely be shifted and altered to make something NEW.

New beginnings, new dreams, new relationships, NEW US.

The attachment of old has to be transformed into love for new!!

Keep smiling !

--

--