Finding Joy In Unfiltered Moments

Can We See Beauty Without Purpose?

Davor Katusic
ILLUMINATION
1 min readDec 8, 2023

--

Photo by Dulcey Lima on Unsplash

As I enjoyed the sunny afternoon, reclining in my chair, I fixed my gaze on the nearby purple flowers to my left. Suddenly, a beautiful black and yellow butterfly came into view, flitting from one flower to another.

To my surprise, this marvel of nature actually made me anxious as I felt an urge to reach for my camera, only to find myself regretting not having it nearby.

What a missed opportunity, I later realised, to fully immerse myself in the present moment. By searching for a camera, I ruined the splendour of the moment. I felt as if I were overlaying reality with a mask of purpose.

Why must everything be infused with purpose?

Why do we constantly seek benefits out of things?

Can we simply observe the beauty of the moment?

After a while, two more beautiful butterflies of the same kind graced me with a second chance. This time, I managed to focus my attention on them without any other motives. I enjoyed the view much more and almost succeeded.

It would have been a complete success if I hadn’t written this story.

Thank you for reading my story.

--

--

Davor Katusic
ILLUMINATION

- I believe that authenticity is the master key to living a good life. - Master of mol. biology, writer, product manager, TEDx speaker, musician, photographer.