First Impressions of Islamabad and what I’ve Learned so far

Erika Chaudhary
ILLUMINATION
Published in
7 min readOct 15, 2020

--

Fresh off the plane views of Pakistan which means the Land of the Pure

I’ve watched many vloggers about Pakistan before coming to Islamabad. You can check out too by Eva Zu Beck on youtube. She’s done some amazing videos on Pakistan.

Since Imran Khan has become a Prime Minister it’s easier to travel to Pakistan and get visas. My husband and I got our visas fast and online. The system, where you fill in all essentials details, require patience. Once we got the visas I was excited. However, travel plans were delayed due to coronavirus.

When we finally were allowed to travel it was exciting to say the least. My husband and I felt safe on the plane because the rules were strict, if you don’t have a negative PCR certificate printed out you are not allowed on the plane. We had to wear masks during the flight too.

Landing to Islamabad

When we were landing in Pakistan it looked like magic. The soft fog prevented me from seeing it all in detail. However, what I saw was the green, the mountains, the grass and the trees. The fog looked like a magical Shakespeare tale about to unfold right before my eyes.

--

--

Erika Chaudhary
ILLUMINATION

I am a writer who learned to code! I write about personal experiences within a humanist and global context. Find me on Twitter & Instagram @erikachaudhary