Five Brilliant Must-Read Books on the Philosophy of Science

From Popper to Poincaré

Sunny Labh
ILLUMINATION

--

I’ve been fascinated by the philosophical realm of the physical sciences lately. Spending some time immersing myself in the literature, primarily the literature of the philosophy of science. By the way, I have written a piece about the distinction between the philosophy of science and scientific philosophy, before. If you haven’t read that yet, I highly suggest you read that first. I’ll leave a link to that piece at the end of this story. The philosophy of science is an interdisciplinary field that seeks to examine and understand the foundations, methodologies, implications, and purpose of science. I must say this is an expansive and fascinating domain that can enrich our comprehension of the world around us. Speaking of which, I thought why not write a recommendation story about the master literary pieces about this ever-enriching domain of philosophy? So here are the five best books (in my opinion and also amongst the ones I’ve read) that you should read if you want to understand the philosophy of science.

1. The Logic of Scientific Discovery” by Karl Popper

Popper’s Image photographed by Horst Tappe/Bridgeman Images. © Horst Tappe.

The list would’ve been incomplete without including Popper since he is, arguably, the father in this domain. Karl Popper presents an audacious perspective in “The

--

--

Sunny Labh
ILLUMINATION

Science writer and communicator majoring in Quantum Mechanics. Curator of @PhysInHistory on twitter. Twitter: @thePiggsBoson