Five Unique Tips to Read More Books in 2024

Devansh Kamdar
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readMar 4, 2024

--

Reading a book sitting cross-legged on the floor
Photo by Blaz Photo on Unsplash

We are all looking to do big things in 2024. One resolution many people have is to read more books. But, like most resolutions, it tends to wear off after the first month.

The same happened to me last year. In 2024, one of my resolutions was to read more books, and I’m succeeding at that so far. In this article, I’ll share the tips I’m using. If you’re struggling with reading more books, this may help.

1. Read books that you actually want to read

This is a big one. We often associate reading books with knowledge and self-improvement, but we shouldn’t forget that books should also be fun. If you read books that expand your mind but aren’t enjoyable, you’re less likely to stick to your habit.

Don’t force yourself to read War & Peace if you don’t want to; read the memoir of your favorite comedian, like A Very Punchable Face by Colin Jost. That’s what I did.

This is why I’ve stopped buying books in bulk; I buy them individually based on my interests. I know it’s not the best financial decision, but it’s helped me keep up my reading habit.

Even if it’s a guilty pleasure book, go for it. At least it’s better than scrolling on your phone. In the long term, it’ll inculcate the habit of reading, allowing you to dive deeper into more profound books.

2. Take a photo of your book after finishing it

I’ve made a highlight on my Instagram page titled “2024 Books,” which contains pictures of all the books I’ve read in 2024. Since I usually don’t take many pictures, it’s exciting to have a Highlight that captures my reading journey.

Of course, it’s not required that you post the picture of your book. You can keep it to yourself in an album, but try to do it. This is all about tracking your progress and rewarding yourself for your work.

3. Define your motivation

When you’re struggling to find time to read books daily, it can help to remember Why you’re reading books in the first place. For this reason, defining your motivation is essential.

My motivation to read more books is to discover all the brilliant stories and pieces I would never enjoy if I limited myself to digital devices. I want to learn more about the world from books, and that’s why I read. So, define your own motivation as well.

4. Always carry a book with you

It’s easier to read daily if you can access your book without much hassle. This is why I carry my book to my co-working space. This way, I can read whenever I feel bored rather than spending time on my phone.

5. Don’t aim to finish a book a week

This may be controversial, but I think the “A Book A Week” concept is unproductive. The greatest book I’ve ever read in my life (Sacred Games by Vikram Chandra) took me a month to complete because it was 900 pages long.

A side effect of trying to read a book a week is that it pushes you to go for shorter books that you can finish quickly but don’t provide as much value, which I think just defeats the purpose.

Plus, I don’t even set any deadlines for finishing a book. The only requirement is to read for an hour or so a day. Because of this, I usually end up reading more than an hour a day.

Conclusion

So, that’s it! To recap: read the books that interest you the most, take a photo of your book after finishing it, define your motivation for reading books, always carry your book with you, and don’t impose unrealistic deadlines on yourself.

I hope these tips help you read more books in 2024. Currently, I’m reading Calypso by David Sedaris. Please leave your current read in the comments.

--

--

Devansh Kamdar
ILLUMINATION

I write about tech, marketing, and self-improvement. Open to new writing projects. Visit devanshkamdar.com to connect.