Flawless History

Rua Younus
ILLUMINATION
Published in
1 min readJun 11, 2024
Retrieved from Canva Stock Images website: https://www.canva.com

Fast as the starved grasp
Of desperate hands,
I offered my sympathy,
No questions asked.

I listened to stories
Of old flames,
The ending
Relayed
In sighs of self-pity.

Simply unlucky,
This new sweetheart of mine,
Simply cursed history.

My heart mellowed
At words
Like crazy,
Like liar,
Like lazy.

I wasn’t any of those.
I was different.
Surely this was the romance
Of poetry and prose.

Let our new love be
A place of sanctity,
Untouched by past ghosts.

Was there ever
A heart
As masochist as mine?

I was properly seasoned,
Exposed to the elements,
So how am I to take offence,
For being drenched in
The same contempt
I allowed against them?

Familiar sighs
Echo across
Familiar sights.
Just like those before me,
I became the only cause
Of the ugly finale.

As you twirl in a pretty dance
With a lifetime victim,
Let the rhythm
Of my hard-earned wisdom
Steer you away
In a whirling dervish of self-preservation.

Grab the loving parts of you
And spin.
For soon your name will be spread
Through sibilant whispers,
Dipped in pretend sorrow.

Another addition
To the misguided collection
Of a faultless casualty.

--

--

Rua Younus
ILLUMINATION

Started writing as a 7-year-old, went to school in the UK, college in the US, and returned to work in the Switzerland of the Middle East.