Four Quotes From The Girl With All The Gifts That Chilled Me To the Bone

Not in a horror-fiction way, but in a too-close-to-reality way

Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她)
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Simona Sergi on Unsplash

Book Title: The Girl with All The Gifts
Author: M. R. Carey

Have you ever had a “blind date” with a book? It was popular a while back with book shops, where books would be packaged in brown paper and twine with a simple genre description. The idea would be that shoppers and readers would pick a book up, not knowing exactly what they were getting into, like a blind date.

I did the same with this book.

It turned out to be an eerie but heart-wrenching post-apocalyptic book that made me question the world. Far too many of the scenes were too similar to what happened in the past year since the pandemic started, even for a completely different context.

This book’s genre might have been “horror”, but the quotes that chilled me to the bone were not of gore.

It was about the real, nuanced bits of life.

“She doesn’t know the words for this. “You’re my bread,” she says at last. “When I’m hungry. I don’t mean that I want to eat you, Miss Justineau! I really…

--

--

Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她)
ILLUMINATION

Filling in the cracks on conflicting self improvement advice and translating how these can work for a more diverse audience ✨ Icon by: @jkbarts #WEOC writer.