Free Up Your Mind

Let go of past experiences that may be holding you back.

Abraham Bamidele ( Editor )
ILLUMINATION
2 min readMar 23, 2024

--

Photo by Ryoji Iwata on Unsplash

There are so many things that could hold us back from moving forward.

On this note, I will try to put things in my parlance, as I have seen it of late.

There are Strong factors such as belief systems, mental health issues, and unforgiveness that can affect our minds exponentially. (In a way that we might not have control over the long-term.)

Especially for those who let that part of their lives dictate what is next for them. In life, it is imperative to understand that things won’t always go well.

Ecclesiastes 3:4 explains why there is a time for everything and why there is a reason for a season; There is a time to laugh, a time to cry, a time for joy and a time for sorrow: a time to sow and a time to reap or harvest.

There used to be a time when I held on to my past experiences I had no control over. I had forgiveness issues and it was a form of escapism for me.

Could you imagine?

I saw it as it is better because I won’t get to talk to them anyway. I do not need them anyway. What makes this paradox so funny is be fact that they served as potent personalities in my life.

Seeing life from that lens was poor and it never really baffled me until I invested time into becoming a better person. Improving on having a sound mind.

I noticed how bad it affected my results, and how I should have built a much better peaceful coexistence and allowed my mind to thrive.

Unforgiveness can be very lurking.

I used this photo by Iwata because it shows how choked the road is and that same analogy can be used in the realm of the mind. When we are packed with too many dark experiences… that we have no control over, it takes up unnecessary spaces in our minds and that needs to be changed.

We need to change this as individuals who are faced with this. The need to acknowledge this issue when we are next faced with the same issue is important.

What I noticed was that our mind is the greatest system. The mind is the body.

How we treat and nurture it can determine whatsoever we aspire to achieve in life.

--

--