From Doubt to Assurance: My Personal Journey to Self-Confidence

Mary Beth Hazeldine
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readAug 4, 2023

--

Woman looking across a lake at a skyline.
Photo by Leohoho on Unsplash

The Early Days: A Wallflower Blooms

Imagine a young girl, more at ease in the background than the limelight. My shyness was as tangible as a heavy blanket, and an over-reliance on digital interactions made my real-life social skills about as polished as a rusty old bike.

I remember a basketball game where a boy I fancied walked past me. In a misguided attempt at humor, I shouted, “Make way, we’ve got a catwalk superstar here!”

Looking back, I cringe at my awkwardness. If I could, I’d love to sit down with my younger self over a cup of hot cocoa and gently steer her towards a more considerate approach.

As the great Maya Angelou once said:

“Do the best you can until you know better. Then when you know better, do better.”

And that’s precisely the journey I embarked on.

The Confidence Conundrum

Let’s be honest, many of us wrestle with confidence, feeling as out of place as a fish on a bicycle. We often live our lives for others, neglecting our personal growth, which leaves us feeling as insecure as a lone sheep in a pack of wolves.

--

--

Mary Beth Hazeldine
ILLUMINATION

Chief Inspiration Officer, Spiritual Psychologist, Hypnotherapist, Writer, Chef, Dog Lover, Line Dancer, Ex-Banker, MBA— marybeth@marybethhazeldine.com