Photo by Silvia Ambrosini on Unsplash

Want to Avoid Regrets?

My personal learning philosophy in this noisy world.

Hallel K.
Published in
3 min readJul 18, 2024

--

Several months ago, I stumbled upon a quote that startled me.

I had been scrolling on YouTube– hunting for a distraction– when I saw it.

It was the loneliest season of my life.

I was feeling bored, exhausted, and alone.

I paused and read the quote a second time.

Then I grabbed a sticky note and scribbled frantically.

“The pain of regret is far worse than the pain of discipline.”

Two things hit me instantly.

First: Sure, I was lonely, but I had time as a result.

I had freedom.

The kind of freedom that, months later, when I found the companionship I craved, I might look back on and wish I could have again.

Second: You know what twists the knife of regret and buries it deep in your chest as you grow older? Hindsight.

It’s that cruel clarity that makes you see the moments you let slip by.

You don’t want to see your true potential today only when you look back five years from now.

Learning–intentional self-directed learning–is a foundation you can start building today.

It requires a lot of discipline, which might be hard.

But at least you won’t regret it.

One of the most intelligent decisions you can make is to learn consistently.

Look, I’m not even making things up.

Intelligent people are always ready to learn.

Their ears are open for knowledge. — Proverbs 18:15 (NLT)

But how do you make learning deliberate and effective in a world where there’s so much noise?

In today’s newsletter, I want to share a quick three-part comparison to guide you on how to learn on your own.

1. Consistency vs. intensity.

Do you brush your teeth for one full hour, once a month, just to get it out of the way?

That sounds ridiculous, I know.

Two minutes twice every day is kinda repetitive, but that’s the norm.

It’s because the benefits are undeniable in the long term.

The goal of consistent learning is not to be an overnight guru.

It is to be able to look back in several years and not regret wasting time.

Don’t wait to do a full three hours of reading on the weekends or your days off.

Set a reminder now and block off 30 minutes or an hour every day.

Start today. Then do it again tomorrow. And the day after.

2. Depth vs. breadth.

It’s important to narrow down on one topic.

Just one.

Ignore all the noise; you’re going to put all your eggs in one basket.

You want to read books on one subject exhaustively.

You will practice one skill extensively.

You’d look smart if you learned a little bit about everything.

But looking smart never got anyone anywhere.

True expertise requires focus.

Don’t spread yourself too thin.

Teach yourself one thing very well before moving on to the next.

3. Repetition vs. Novelty

Most days, my brain feels like it’s ready to explode.

I’m constantly absorbing new information and there’s still so much I need to know.

I consciously have to stop myself and remember to strengthen what already exists.

If you have one hour for studying every day, use 15 minutes for revision.

Take your old, old notes and reread them.

Read your highlighted quotes from the books you’ve read this year.

Ask yourself if you’ve applied them. Do you even remember them?

Prioritize your revision of old knowledge as much as your accumulation of the new.

Instead of throwing a bunch of information at you, I wrote this article as a gentle reminder.

You may already know these things, but I want you to walk away with these three principles in mind.

Consistency. Depth. Repetition.

Did you enjoy reading this?

I send out free tips on how to be productive while teaching yourself a profitable skill.

Subscribe here.

--

--