From Lukman to Aufbau: My Journey of Resilience and Self-Discovery

Lukman Aufbau
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readJun 22, 2024

--

Author’s photo

When I was not much more than a newborn child, the only thing my father bestowed upon me at birth was a name, Lukman.

In Arabic, Lukman literally means “the WISE,” I do not believe that names are destiny or that my father somehow divined my future, but in later years, friends and relatives would ascribe to my birth name the many storms I have both caused and weathered.

My more familiar nickname or order name, Aufbau.”

In German, its colloquial meaning more accurately would be “building up or construction.”

often the name was not given to me until my first day of school.

But I am getting ahead of myself.

My father was an average height, dark-skinned man with a straight and stately posture, which I like to think I inherited.

My father had a stern manner and did not spare the rod when disciplining his children.

He could be exceedingly stubborn, another trait that may unfortunately have been passed down from father to son.

I maintain that nurture, rather than nature, is the primary moulder of personality, but my father possessed a proud rebelliousness, a stubborn sense of fairness, that I recognize in myself.

When I was born it was on March 3rd, 1996 The day I was delivered, they said I would build a legacy.

Picture me with the influence, That last generations.

I was made out of love to, Keep you happy and educated.

The first six letters of, the alphabet are my name I made you wise, I made you laugh I made you build, I have been around the world and back.

Writing my almanack, so dearly way before the fact, Me and pops were estranged My father was an entrepreneur.

->Bigger than life.

->Lived as a winner, on stages alike.

->Rivers of people surely united.

->Just to see our bond.

Time carried on, that was a common thread My perfect father had many flaws.

Still they moved their legs and Shook their heads in unison.

He had more children, I was the 3rd.

Wealways played with each other 'fore they ruined 'em.

He told me his secrets.

"Childhood catching on beatings.

Sexually touched and abused.

Never seen life in a school.

The price of being iconic.

Was demonic and screwed" I stood at home and had to hear my father’s words.

Stress on the head of my spirit I was lost and confused.

I knew both sides of the story, but still, I couldn’t choose to see, it as more than an Accident and being crashed Life’s most beautiful moments are often the simplest.

And now my purpose for livin’.

Makes no difference to you.

My total existence was for Making' a smiling move.

Even to my young eyes, it was clear that myfather was not long for this world.

He had an accident some type of car crash, but it was not diagnosed, as my father had never had a chance to meet the doctor.

unfortunately, he died due to being in the driver’s seat of a crashed Peugeot.

It was by no means his fault that he died but it was truly tragic what happened.

The Peugeot was in a bad way with too much power and there were other cases where people were in control..

I WAS SIX AT THETIME.

I do not remember experiencing great grief so much as feeling cut adrift.

Although my mother was the centre of my existence, I define myself through my mother.

My father’s passing changed my MOTHER’s whole life in a way that she did not suspect at the time…

Ok, that took a long time to pull together. Basically an entire storytelling e-book for free. I hope it helps. P.S. Share it with others and follow me Lukman Aufbau for more in future.

Thank you!!!

Did you know you can clap up to 50 times on Medium?

Subscribe and never miss out

Find me on Twitter & LinkedIn

Your Support Matters!

I believe that good content should be FREE! Good content helps people learn and grow. I don’t want to hide my content behind a paywall and charge people for it.

If you’d like to support me in sharing high-quality content for free, you can visit my ☕ Ko-fi page and make a small donation at buymeacoffee.com/lukmanaufbau.

--

--

Lukman Aufbau
ILLUMINATION

Author of 'My Life On HackerNoon' Building my newsletter to $1M in revenue & sharing everything I learn.