From Skeptic to Believer: How Minoxidil Changed My Hair Growth Journey

After one year and a half, this is my verdict.

aicha hs
ILLUMINATION
2 min readJun 19, 2024

--

Photo by Towfiqu Barbhuiya on Unsplash

At the beginning of 2017, I started losing my hair, it wasn’t that bad at first. Three years after I lost 80%, my hairline shrunk and I panicked.

Will I lose my hair completely? Am I going to be bald? What should I do to prevent it?

I was 23 years old and I was diagnosed with Androgenetic Alopecia minoxidil was my only treatment.

Minoxidil foam vs liquid

With a hand massage, I have applied minoxidil 2% liquid (ten drops per day) to my scalp. I have noticed hair growth after two months of daily usage, and my hair started getting longer after seven months.

for the first six months, my hair wasn’t thin anymore and my hairline started improving, there was only one downside minoxidil greased my hair.

For the second six months, I used minoxidil once every two days, but it didn’t work for me as I noticed my hair started falling again so I went back to daily usage with 10 drops.

After one year, my scalp was very itchy, and I suffered from dandruff, it was a nightmare.

To ease these side effects I used glycolic acid (for a short period) applied to my scalp two times a week. It helped with dandruff.

Switching to foam was better for my dry scalp and eliminated all the unwanted side effects once and for all. The only downside foam is expensive.

Too late for minoxidil or should I embrace the fall?

It is never too late to use minoxidil, but the earlier the better.

You have better chances of success if your hair is just starting to look thinner, and you will notice better results with continuous use than to try and regrow a bald head after the same number of years.

What will happen if you quit?

For now, Minoxidil is the best solution for alopecia androgenetic.

The side effects can be very annoying. In most cases, they are easy to deal with. You can switch to foam form, which will help with dandruff and your oily scalp. You can use glycolic acid or salicylic acid ( glycolic acid is more suitable for normal to dry scalp ).

Conclusion

Minoxidil belongs to a class of drugs known as vasodilators. It is not known how minoxidil causes hair growth. It is not used for sudden hair loss, unexplained hair loss ( if you have no family history of hair loss), or hair loss after giving birth.

Always check with your healthcare provider before using it.

--

--

aicha hs
ILLUMINATION

Join me, your PharmD, as I unravel the mysteries of supplementation and gut health. Stay tuned for expert tips on finding the ideal vitamin just for you!