From White Supremacy to Gay Love

How the gay community hijacked the #Proud Boys hashtag and showed the world love.

Rebecca Stevens
ILLUMINATION

--

I was a little alarmed this morning to see the Proud Boys hashtag trending on Twitter. I mean Proud Boys are known to be a violent white supremacist, racist, islamophobic, misogynistic, transphobic hate group.

In a show of support to alt-right groups, Trump even asked them to “Stand back, Stand by,” at last week’s presidential debate. Needless to say, this caused quite a lot of controversy, and Trump’s stubbornness to disavow or distance himself from known white supremacist and racist groups has indeed been quite shocking.

The Proud Boys responded by saying that they were ready to serve the Commander-In-Chief, all he needed to do was ask. This chilled me to the bone.

The hate group felt even further emboldened and empowered to have the most powerful man in the world in their corner. I knew that this would mean an increase in racism and acts of violence toward black and brown people around the world. It was just a matter of time.

And then this morning, when I saw the #Proud Boys hashtag trending, I feared the worst. I wondered how they could be trending on Twitter given the racist nature of the group, but then again, 2020 has been a strange year, nothing…

--

--

Rebecca Stevens
ILLUMINATION

I write about racism, but there are so many other things I would like to write about instead. Help me dismantle racism so that I can get to that.