Juicy Watermelon Recipes

Sweet and savory watermelon treats

iWriteTee
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Pori He on Unsplash

Summer is officially here and it’s watermelon season! I have so many wonderful melon memories. Watermelon is wonderful simply chilled and sliced, but there is so much more you can do with this magnificent melon.

Fun fact: Did you know you can eat most of the watermelon including the rind and seeds?

The inner, white part of the rind can be used for sweet or savory snacks and condiments like jellies and pickles.

Photo by Kenta Kikuchi on Unsplash

My Gam use to make rind jelly and now I’m seeing recipes for rind pickles.

Unfortunately, I didn’t get my Gam’s recipe and I didn’t eat much of her jelly because I was a bratty kid the thought of eating watermelon rind grossed me out. But I remember the distinct taste and texture of her rind jelly and wouldn’t mind tasting it today as my palette has evolved.

Alton Brown from Good Eats has a Rind Jelly recipe, but I’ve chosen to post the National Center for Food Preservation’s recipe because it’s a simpler recipe and reminds me of Gam’s.

--

--

iWriteTee
ILLUMINATION

Top Writer, freelancer, matriarch, educator & development consultant with bylines in Creators Hub, Better Marketing, Zora, Momentum, An Injustice!, etc.