State Auditor| Work Life |Stories

GACPA Subic Convention: There’s no such thing as work-life Balance

My Convention Diary

Jennica Rose
ILLUMINATION

--

Eyebrows might have crossed just reading the article title, don’t worry we’ll reach that part.

COA 10 Representatives from the different sectors (DPWH, Water District & Local Auditors)

The month of May has always been one of the anticipated moments in COA, from the celebration of our 114th anniversary to midyear bonus to group and sectoral activities. It’s that month of the year which serves as a little breather and those few instances where all auditors through out the region gathered.

Its also one of my favorite months in the past but this year was something different, in my case this serves as a crucial month- our law school finals!

I have already set plans on my work schedules, from finalizing evaluation reports on complaints, to finishing the Audit report to preparing for the finals. Our finals was scheduled last May 15–19,2023 and its that redemption period which will eventually decide whether or not I am still eligible for 2nd year in Xavier University.

(Guess I talk too much, anyhows) By May 9,2023, In an office order from the Head Office of the Commission on Audit in Manila, I was one of those who will be sent to attend the GACPA Annual National Convention which will be held in Subic on May 24–26,2023. A wonderful feat, a departure from the new normal last time- Webinars due to COVID restriction. It will be the first time after Two (2) years to finally have it on a face to face set-up.I have already set plans on my work schedules, from finalizing evaluation reports on complaints, to finishing the Audit report to preparing for the finals. Our finals was scheduled last May 15–19,2023 and its that redemption period which will eventually decide whether or not I am still eligible for 2nd year in Xavier University.

It was rather a great opportunity im not supposed to miss, but then I can’t imagine myself having to travel alone to a place i have never been. Luck was with me again that my husband noticed my dilemma. Despite his busy schedule, he offered to accompany me to Subic. To concerned citizens who is reading this article, don’t worry his plane tickets are from our own pockets😂.

Plane ticket tips for my hubby that saved us money:

We planned to meet at Clark Airport him being in Leyte and me from Cagayan de Oro.

Direct flight from Tacloban to Clark cost ₱9,000+ so I tried checking for two routes,

(1) Tacloban to Cebu and

(2) Cebu to Clark

The 2 separate bookings costs us only ₱3,000 more or less compared to the direct flight of ₱9,000 in exchange of the waiting time discomfort. He will be arriving to Cebu at 8:00pm and his flight to Cebu to clark will be 6:00am the following day, and he will be waiting there until 12:00nn for my arrival. He was actually more than willing to wait just for the extra savings, which we both find worth it.

I met my awesome friend Kalvin at the Airport. My friend worked in a pharmateutical company and boy felt like I was on the medical field being treated with a free coffee and breakfast by this amazing traveller friend!

First Day in Subic: The Suspense is brutally torturing me!

The only available direct flight from CDOC to Clark Airport was scheduled on May 23,2023 which meant being a day earlier from the convention. I already booked the ticket way too earlier, even before the law examinations and guess what? booking my flight on May 23 turned out to be on my favor!

Studying while at the Airport or Bus

The finals was supposed to be already done prior to being in Subic (which meant that I can already finish my Audit Reports on a saturday and sunday prior to fying to Subic) but guess what? We had an examination failure. The examplify software’s monitoring feature in one of our exams was not turned on and all of the first years have to retake a new Oblicon Finals. Oblicon- our major subject this 2nd semester which fell on the same day as my flight MAY 23,2023! XU law seems to have this standard of treating everyone equal, be a full time student or a working student, no considerations and exceptions. Whether we liked it or not, we have to take it.

My husband and I met at the Clark Airport. Bus Terminal is just nearby.

God is so good! Felt like he planned everything. My arrival in clark will be at 12nn and it will only take 2 hours from Clark to Subic which also meant that I will already be at our accommodation before 5:30pm for our examination. But similar to a thriller movie, I don’t know why of all the time this can happen, no bus from Clark to Subic was around in the terminal. My husband asked for taxis to Subic and as expected its freaking expensive at ₱3,500. We had no choice but to take the Bus. The Bus finally arrived at 1:20pm and it only left by around 2:00pm.

Checking google maps, the travel from clark terminal to Subic would be estimated at 2 hrs, at this rate I will be reaching there by 4:00pm (I still have an hour allowance for the exam preparations).

To add my thumping heartbeat, at around 3pm, the bus took another terminal stop! the google maps still dictated “2 hours to Subic”. I was already crying on the inside! My husband went to ask the bus driver the estimated time we will actually reach Subic and he was reassured at around 4:00 to 4:20 pm the most.

I was still thinking about google maps with “2 hours” but who would I believe more? the computer or the driver? My husband kept my cool and told me to trust the driver, we might be taking a different route or a short cut to which he was actually correct!

In the middle of the trip, we actually went to a different route and the trip was shortened to an hour! How could you do this to me googlemaps?!

We took a stop at Subic SM Downtown and our accomodation at Mercado East Condominium was just a walk a way. We arrived at our place at exactly 4:22pm, boy the place was so good!

It was aesthetic, clean, near almost every convenience stores, offices, colleges and mall! The pictures surely tell! On top of that they have an amazing receptionist and welcoming owners!

I looked freaking tired but relieved! Finally, the last examination for the 2nd Semester AY 2022–2023

The very time I learned about the retaking of examination, I already inquired Mercado East about the Internet connection due to my examination. Luckily, we have free wifi that’s fast too. But did you know what happened? Similar to Bus scenario, out of all the times the internet could fail, It was not working at the hour we arrived at our place.

My husband brought with him two (2) extra pocket wifis for emergency, one (SJ) camera as supporting evidence and I have my internet too but all connection not working. At 5:20 pm I could not open my examplify. My mind’s about to blow, I was already crying! I can’t even think straight.

Flexing my husband again, marrying a pilot is like marrying a man with presence of mind. He acts like a uniformed personnel. While I was wasting my time crying, he reached out to the owners and to the receptionist. Good heavens! Despite everything God gave me amazing condo owners! When they learned of my internet problems they immediately had me took my exam in their exclusive office with a stronger connection, they even helped me set up the mirror and gave me a drink. They were so all out! By 5:35, I was already able to take my oblicon finals.

The exam ended exactly after 2 hours but I had to wait until 9:41pm for everything to be fully uploaded. Right after the examination, we went out and treated ourselves with Angel’s burger, being the only open store at these hours (Angel’s burger is open 24hrs). Thank you Lord! Thank you Mercado East and thank you Hubby!!!! I couldn’t imagine If he was not with me!

A great accommodation at Mercado East in Olongapo. 3-Minutes drive to Subic Base. We haven’t taken lunch, and treated ourselves with Angel’s burger.

Day 1 of GACPA Convention:

GACPA (acronym for Government Association for Certified Public Accountants) is a national group for all CPAs working in the government. So technically, in the convention you will meet mostly all of the financial heads from the different Bureaus and Departments of the Philippine Government. The event was actually a success considering the number of participants which made the Subic Convention Center full.

The event will start in the afternoon, so my hubby and I took lunch at SM with Persian Avenue, which I love by the way.

Persian Avenue

We then took a taxi ride going to Subic Convention Center. Most taxis are not metered so overpricing is real and seemingly a custom. A 3-minute ride to Subic Convention Centers costs ₱150!

Geographically, it seemed liked there are two Subics, the inside and the outside. The base which actually houses the convention center is somewhat isolated, only taxis can enter the place so we had no choice but to grab it.

Inside Subic Convention Center

Inside the base, there are actually more hotels and stores which by the way is akin to a BGC Vibe.

Inside the Subic Convention Center

Upon entering the Convention Center, you will find numerous booths surrounding the hall for varieties of souvenirs.

My Mandatory 1st Day Pic

Before attending the event, we were directed to claim our kit which included an ethnic-pegged tote, Notebook and Pen, GACPA Shirt, Food Tickets, Official Receipt for the registration and our Souvenir ID.

The Convention started in the afternoon of May 24, 2023

The afternoon’s highlight was an inspirational message from the PICPA National President (PICPA the umbrella organizations of CPAs) Dr. Erwin Vincent G. Alcala which was followed by a video message of our keynote speaker Hon. Gamaliel A. Cordoba, our COA Chairperson.

Inflatable Island Experience: My Hubby’s Sense of Fashion

My hubby and I visited one of Subic’s tourist attractions- The Inflatable Island. There are actually two (2), the inflatable Island and Zamba. We actually went to the newest attraction which is the former, located at the Barreto.

A must visit place in Subic- The Inflatable Island

To actually save transpo earlier, I asked my husband to bring me a beach outfit and to my surprise, he brought me a semi-winter outfit! I actually lost my appetite of taking photos, imagine being surrounded with people in Bikinis while im all covered with cloth😂. Anyways, the ambiance was good that it gave me a little relief, good thing the hubby looked good! He saved the OOTD.

All smiles for the view

Cost of the Inflatable Island trip:

Taxi to inflatable Island ₱300

Inflatable Island Entrance Fee (₱999x 2) ₱1,998 (consumable ₱500 each)

Jeepney to victory liner ₱15x2= ₱30

Total Cost for Two= ₱2,328

Inflatable Island located in Barreto

Fellowship Night: An Enervon Dance

Prior to the trip, I already checked the GACPA Invitation, but there was no notice for the Hawaian outfit theme. It was only through one of my colleagues, that I received the memo.

I haven’t really brought one, imagine already being out of place for the second time around. Good thing I always bring a back-up. Prior to packing, I already planned what to wear per day plus the contingencies and boy it worked out. I actually brought with me something floral which is already quiet close to the theme.

Fellowship Night at the evening of May 24, 2023

Upon arriving at the Subic center, I found one of my colleagues and decided to sit with them, but in an unexpected turn of events, the very time I was about to sit, the region 10 CPAs particularly in COA Region 10 were called for a flash MOB! Im one such lucky woman!😂 I went to the stage 100% blank and unprepared but at the end of the fellowship we actually received a ₱500 worth of gift certificate from Mang Inasal! Well Destiny has its ways of making amends with me.

We were called for a flash Mob and got this P500 worth of Mang Inasal Gift Certificates

Right after our fellowship event, my colleagues from the different sectors ended the night with a live band at Pier One, Old Cabalan.

My hubby and I walked our way home at 12:14pm (since there were no more taxis around) and realized how near our Condo was to the Subic Center.

Day 2 of GACPA Convention:

Well this time, we can’t walk our way considering the heat and my belongings.

Day Two of the GACPA Convention, May 25, 2023

The second day was actually a full blast covering four (4) technical sessions:

1.) Laws, Rules and Regulations on Government Expenditure by COA Asst. Commissioner Atty. Winnie Rose Encallado

2.) Latest Updates on CSC Rules and Regulations by the Director III, Offic eof Legal Affairs of the Civil Service Commission, Atty. Ariel V. Villanueva

3.) Coping with Stress: Work Life Balance by Dra. Monica Wallet, RPsy, professor of UP Los Baños and

4.) Latest Updates on BIR Rules and Regulations spearheaded by the main speaker Atty. Erwin Sepacio, Legal Division of BIR Regional Office IV.

I wished to write down all of the topics listed above but it would really turn my blog to an extensive research like paper. So allow me to pick the topic which everyone, not only CPAs could relate, this Work life Balance.

No such thing as a Work-Life Balance: Integrate

Congratulations, you have reached this part! Whether you’ve skipped, skimmed or what not, this is the only section where I can justify the title. Thank you for bearing with me 😂.

Anyways, the speaker made us stand, breathe in and out and gave us steps and tests to cope up with stress.

Accordingly, there is no such thing as work-life balance, the only way we could cope up the different demands is to integrate.

What does this integrate mean?

Quoted from the convention:

“Not everyday can be in balance, but your life has to be in balance, Career-Life Integration, which is a more accurate way of describing the dynamics at play; the flexibility, the ability to bring work at home, the need to manage availability for work and family. (Preville, 2019)”

“Finding areas of compromise (US Chamber of Commerce, 2023)”.

To me, it still boils down to the magic words-priority. You can never reach a compromise without knowing which matters most. There

will always be one or two that weighs much and this is were the dynamics play. Its not all the time they will both equally eat you whole but I believe that when it happens that is when stress kicks in.

The professor actually gave us a test whether or not our stress level is making us prone to illness using the Holmes and Rache Stress scale. We were made to jot down areas from the table which are our current stress factors and we add all the equivalent values to determine our stress range.

Left: Table list of Stress Factors, Right: Range of Results

I scored less than a 150 which meant I “accordingly” am in a slight risk of illness. Guess the good scores are to be credited to the hubby who keeps on saving my day.

Nevertheless, I made my husband took the same test too and he outrageously scored the ceiling at 300+, he actually scored 348 which meant his stress level is at the risk of illness! What an irony. At the back of my mind, maybe because of continuously saving my day, he intoxicated himself with stress, of course I reviewed his scores, (Hahaha the Auditor in Me), the stress factors he picked were mostly business-related, no wonder only those with strong stamina can surpass the tests of time! Right at these very moments, while Im writing this, Im thinking what are the possible problems of business tycoons, are their stress levels also high? ( To tycoons who can read this, just my luck, can you save my inner thoughts and comment your stress level😂 Thank you in advance!)

Moving forward, there were a lot of ways to cope with stress from the thing we can and we cannot control. The professor, as far as I can remember, suggested three ways:

1.) Square Breathing- Calming your nervous system

2.) 5–4–3–2–1 Method- Connects you with your five senses to ease your anxiety by encouraging you to focus on the present moment and;

3.) Self Compassion break- A self reassurance

I hope this some how helped :)

These were the clearest photos I have, these are the steps of the three methods above-mentioned.

Subic Yacht Experience

Prior to the Subic trip, I checked on tourist attractions we could actually pay a visit. Yacht Cruise was actually one of the main activities you can do while in Subic. But upon checking the rates, it got off my list and eventually it never crossed my mind! It was undoubtedly expensive and extravagant for only the two of us.

Our first Subic Yacht Experience with the Husband

Fast forward, my colleagues shared with me the beautiful attractions somewhat nearby, from Las Casas, Inflatable Island to the Yacht Cruise. In a great coincidence, with luck trying to make further amends with me, they were actually looking for more people who can join them in the Yacht Cruise. They were aiming to gather atleast 15 people so we could save the cost and. we actually made the cut. From the cheapest rate available of ₱22,000 down to ₱1,650 per person. Who would say no to joining?!

It was one of the best experience to cap the Subic Trip, and it was even more fun having a lot more company!

After day 2 convention, we immediately headed to the Subic Bay Freeport Zone Zambales which happened to be somewhat nearby. The cruise’s policies were a bit strict and does not allow for late comers. We actually arrived just on time and the cruise started at around 5:27pm.

Our Group Photos

As ordinary citizens of the Philippines, it was my hubby and I’s first Yacht Cruise experience. The cruise included snacks, videoke and of course the picturesque view!

What a wonderful way to celebrate our Monthsarry

The group then took our dinner at the Texas Joe and our figures could tell how my hubby and I splurges on food. We ordered their specialty, the rib eye steak-Medium Well and the Half-rack rib. Ive always wanted my food well done but we both made a compromise for the steak, and it was surprisingly tender! I loved it!

The group ate dinner at Texas Joe.

What a great way to end the night!

Day 3 Convention: Fear tof Super Typhoon Mawar

The convention was supposed to end at around 2pm but the two technical sessions were compressed in the morning so participants can already leave after lunch because of the fear of super typhoon Mawar.

The 2 technical sessions were:

1.) Latest Updates on BOA by Dr. Noe G. Quiñanola, Chairperson of the Professional Regulatory Board of Accountancy and

2.) Philippine Development Plan: Road to Recovery by the OIC Director of the National Economic and Development Authority

I actually brushed off the thought of Super Typhoon Mawar since I have already set my eyes at Anawangin Cove and Capones Island, but the Fear can really be totally felt. Most of my colleagues actually rebooked their flight. Instead of rebooking our plane schedules, we instead opted for a detour, a detour which made the trip a most memorable one. Made a separate picture flooded- blog about Las Casas de Acuzar.

Few of our photos at Las Casas de Acuzar

GACPA Convention Take-away

My husband, a seemingly extra ordinary being, consistently hitting on my imperfections gave me beautiful words that I will surely remember.

He perceives even the ordinary things as precious gifts and opportunities. These are what he told me:

“Did you know how proud I am that you were one of the few to be sent to Subic?” With that tone of sincerity and conviction.

(at the back of my mind- Really???? Seriously???, Like Im not given any medal for attending😂)

“Remember to be fully attentive to this rare opportunity, I know the kind of person you are, you can be far more greater”.

Imagine the scenario of me being only a participant and the words these man is feeding me like I wasn’t even a speaker in a technical session.

Glad he was with me in this journey.

Who would not document the whole event and the OOTDs after hearing those melodic affirmations😂!

So for the take- away, I believe the integration can only smoothly happen when you are surrounded with people who understands you. Even if you have the ability to compromise, to bring work at home, that skill to manage availability for both work and family, when you are excruciatingly bundled with toxic individuals, they can actually consume you even before gaining that mental strength to integrate the different aspects in life. The husband’s actions those melodic affirmations and thoughts led me to that conclusion.

Ended our Subic Trip at Hungry Asian

I think none of us do not want a peaceful home to go to at the end of the day. None of us wanted to spend majority of our work life time with individuals mocking, and secretly putting us down. Guess the ability to walk away from these kind of people will free us to the best version of what life can offer and give us.

Thank you for reading this far!

--

--

Jennica Rose
ILLUMINATION

A State Auditor. Unfolding Stories from Work and life to Scoops, Short Stories and recreationals.