Game over narcissist

I see the signs that at first I missed

Nandini Dawar
ILLUMINATION
2 min readSep 4, 2024

--

A woman (with her back to the audience) who has the words “Love Shouldn’t Hurt” painted on her back

Photo by Sydney Sims on Unsplash

No more abuse
Hey I refuse!
I’m done with your games
No more calling me names.

You made the time
To fabricate slime
A slew of lies
To my surprise
You uttered with such ease
You got the mental disease!

Oh narcissist,
Why so pissed?

You’re so amazingly vain
You went inflicting such pain
On the one you said
You wanted to wed.
So filled with hate
You laid out the bait
You got the evil tone
And a heart made of stone.

Oh narcissist,
Why so pissed?

It’s so hard to believe
You did deceive
A girl so strong
You led her along
She got the beauty and brain
And yet her life force you did drain?

Oh narcissist,
Why so pissed?

You parasite
I want you out of my sight.
You think you’re cool?
You’re just a big old fool.
You stonewall, you gaslight
You love bomb, you vilely fight.
You promptly deflect, and swiftly project
It’s your twisted mind that you fiercely protect!

Oh narcissist,
Why so pissed?

I know it’s not easy
To get rid of you, you sleazy
You got the sick brain
And you call me insane?
Adept at shifting blame
Incapable of shame.

Oh narcissist,
Why so pissed?

I’ve seen you both on the inside and out
I’ve heard you swear and watched you shout.
It’s been the darkest night, crying over you bitch
But I’m ready now, to flip the switch.
No matter what be your next move
I am onto a different groove.
Our codependence? It now stands finished
For I won’t allow myself to be diminished.

Oh narcissist,
Why so pissed?

Your childhood trauma, caused you to be deranged
You’ve got a disorder, and it can’t be changed.
Now I won’t justify, and I will not defend
Our ‘situation’, I shan’t try to mend.
I finally see what I didn’t before
How deviously, my very spirit you tore!
You’re one who’ll never admit to his flaws
A recluse who’s secretly yearning for applause.

Oh narcissist,
Why so pissed?

The only way folks like you survive
Is when to the brink another you drive.
You’re so empty you need a constant supply
That to boost yourself, you then apply.
Unable to feel an ounce of empathy
You’re at the edge of psychopathy.
You may be a king in your filthy lair
But guess what? Now I simply don’t care

Hey narcissist?
Go on and stay pissed.

--

--

Nandini Dawar
ILLUMINATION

A writer and a poet. I write about the truth of our lives, specially the often masked inner landscape.