Gas-lighter. A Poem.

Kim Ross
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readJan 18, 2023
Photo by Vinicius Löw on Unsplash

You Ignite in Me A Fire

A Fury From the Depths of Me

A Weeping Heart That Never Tires

You are A Con Man And A Liar

All the Times You Turned Me Up

And Convinced Me Things Untrue

My Bleeding Heart Believed in You

My Reality You Slew

You Chose Pride Instead of Love

And I’m Glad That We Are Through

You Said it Was All My Fault

Every Single Thing

I Halt

Your Lies and Empty Promises

Your Anger and Cold Heart

You Made Me Feel Like

My Life Was Falling Apart

I’ll Never Understand the Cowardice

That Makes A Person Slither

Into Someone Else’s Mind

And Makes Their Garden Wither

A Bitter Cold Blows Through Me

When I Hear Your Name

When All My Heart and Soul I Gave

But To You, it Was A Game

A Twisted Board Where Cheaters Win

Know I Know Why Lies are Sins

The Pain You Caused With Smooth Precision

Fueled the Fire to Make Decisions

To Make A Fake Incision

And Amputate the Fear, the Hate

Despair

That Your Gaslighting left there

Thanks for reading my work! I love to hear feedback, so please comment freely! I hope you have a wonderful rest of your day!

If you are interested in more of my online contributions, please check out my https://linktr.ee/bohemianspirit

--

--

Kim Ross
ILLUMINATION

A Poetess. A Mother. A Student of Anthropology. An Artist With A Passion For All Things Interesting!