Intermittent Fasting

Gave Intermittent Fasting Four Months

What happened?

Carolyn F. Chryst, Ph.D.
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readNov 28, 2022

--

Photo by Diana Polekhina on Unsplash

It is working!

In my article “Intermittent Fasting Yes or No?” I laid out a plan to stick with Intermittent Fasting (IF) through the holidays. Well we are past Halloween and Thanksgiving. Stick with the plan, Yes or No? A resounding YES.

In week one I reported on an unexpected benefit of IF-savings! Taking an entire meal off the table not only reduces calorie intake but results in substantial savings. I joked that I could use that savings to buy new clothes. Turns out that was no joke! I did have to put all my food budget savings into buying a new wardrobe. My pants were literally falling off of me.

The early-on energy jolts have leveled off. I kind of need those back! I do have more energy, but boy I got a lot done in those initial first weeks of energy surges.

In the article “15 Days of Intermittent FastingI share physiological results that I had not encountered in all my research on the the topic of IF. I don’t want to focus only on the downside of IF, but there are some results that should be shared. I was living in the bathroom.

As my body adapted to burning fat for fuel and as my metabolism continued to repair, I found myself dashing to the bathroom…

--

--

Carolyn F. Chryst, Ph.D.
ILLUMINATION

An eclectic life: Waitress, Actress, Zoo Curator, Story Teller, Poet, Exhibit Designer, Writer, Farmer, Educator & Survivor .. Writing, essential as breathing.