Get Organized at Home

Clear the Clutter

Katherine G. MacRae
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Anastasiia Chepinska on Unsplash

Have you ever purchased something at the store only to discover a short while later that you had already owned the same or similar enough item that you found tucked away at home?

I hate to admit I have done this more than once. I’ve also purchased pre-season, shoes, boots, gloves and jackets, forgetting what I already owned. As I stored away seasonal clothes, coats, hats, gloves and footwear for the offseason, out of sight was out of mind.

Now I have a rule that I am not to purchase seasonal clothing, outerwear or footwear until I have gone through my seasonal trove and know what I already have and what may need replacing.

Chances are I don’t really need to buy or replace anything wearable for the change of season and can get by just fine with what I already own. I would probably do well to part with some of it too.

Unless you (regretfully?) jumped into the Tiny House living phenomenon, I think most of us (in North America) have a lot of stuff we don’t need.

Are your closets stuffed full of clothes you haven’t worn in years? Does your basement resemble a junkyard? Can your car barely fit your garage because of an excess of kid’s toys, yard tools and stuff you haven’t used in years but thought you just might need someday?

--

--

Katherine G. MacRae
ILLUMINATION

Inspiring the Super Hero in You! Leadership Success Coach/Trainer/Speaker/Writer http://www.buymeacoffee.com/BYOSuperHero