POETRY

ghost light

a poem

Gabi Oliver
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by @cmcapartments on Instagram

I’ll leave a light on for you
because I want you to know
someone was thinking of you
not long ago

I’ll leave a light on for you
because trust me, I know
it can be hard to see
when you cease to glow

I’ll leave a light on for you
but lights do burnout
so do take your time
but please leave the doubt

I’ll leave a light on for you
because I want you to see
the warm thing you are
and you once made me

I’ll leave a light on for you
and I hope you find
that after all
you were not left behind

that this light has been on
and that you came back
and let this all be
proof of the fact

that lights do burnout
they flicker and die
but that doesn’t mean
that you shouldn’t try

Next time you return
and find a dark stage
you’ll find that these lights
aren’t too hard to change

--

--

Gabi Oliver
ILLUMINATION

media and communications student. actor. language learner. lover of words.