“God Is Great, And He Is Good”

A common Christian belief that often blindsight them from seeing the good of humankind.

Paola Perez
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Ashkan Forouzani on Unsplash

A man is driving home and is stopped by a police officer. His driver's license expired almost a year ago. He has had a hard time making ends meet, and paying for license renewal fees would be a luxury. Most people are unemployed due to the 2007–2008 recession. He explains his situation to the officer and also prays to God, begging Him for aid and hallelujah; the police officer lets him go with a warning. He drives off glorifying God, and the police officer's kindness dilutes before the love of the Creator.

Later the man tells his testimonial to the Church, and the congregation rejoices and further glorifies God. “If you believe there is nothing God will not do for you,” the pastor says, and everyone nods in agreement with their hands raised high.

You or someone you know may have a similar story — a testament of God’s love for us. Certainly, something like this can only be possible thanks to God’s everlasting love and kindness, not because of humankind’s empathy.

I was certain that this was the case some time ago. If trouble reached me, all I had to do was pray fervently, and God would rescue me. “Only He can save me,” I thought. When He didn't, I knew it was my own fault…

--

--