God’s Plan

A Story-Poem

Harley King
ILLUMINATION

--

Canva-Photo by Pavel Tymofiiyk

I sleep with a rebellious angel
who fights for the rights of humans
to determine their own future
and not be punished for changing
the laws of God to fit their own needs.
I love the way her hair reflects
the color of her moods and how
her wings expand and contract
with each breath she takes and
each song that she sings in the early morning
hours before the coming of the glorious sun.
She has told me dozens of bedtime stories
about the illicit affairs of her sister angels
and how God stripped Gabriel of his powers
because he chose to defy the holy son who
had given his life that God may rule forever.
And yet, it is in those intimate moments
when I am full caught in her embrace
that I begin to understand the scope and
nature of God’s plan for my salvation.

Copyright © 2020 by Harley King

--

--