Gone Girl Gone Wrong

The bizarre story of Sherri Papini

Blessing Oluchukwu Awamba
ILLUMINATION

--

A picture of Sherri and Keith Papini merged with the promotional flyer for Gone Girl edited on Canva

When I think of my wife, I always think of the back of her head. I picture cracking her lovely skull, unspooling her brain, trying to get answers… What are you thinking? How are you feeling? What have we done to each other? — Nick Dune (Gone Girl, 2014)

Suburban mum of two kidnapped during midday run!

Family mourns disappearance of beloved wife in California neighborhood!

These were the headlines that trailed Sherri Papini’s disappearance in November 2016.

When Gillian Flynn published her hit novel, Gone Girl, she never envisaged that real-life people would attempt the same daredevil moves as her main character, Amy.

Gone Girl, the novel, was number one on the New York Times Hardcover Fiction Bestseller list for eight weeks. It also lasted twenty-six weeks on National Public Radio’s hardcover fiction bestseller list. According to the book's publisher, it sold over two million copies in print and digital editions in one year.

The novel was so successful that it caught the eye of 20th Century Fox Studio. In partnership with Regency…

--

--

Blessing Oluchukwu Awamba
ILLUMINATION

I write about life; as I experience it, as I know it; as it could be better.