Grammy, I’m the Loneliest Person In My Family Thanks to the Virus

Another story from Cambria and her grandmother

John O'Neill
ILLUMINATION

--

Image by Alexas_Fotos from Pixabay

Every day since the pandemic separated them and caused their world to shut down, Cambria and Grammy have video chatted. Grammy usually reads a story while Cam draws, colors, and hopefully listens.There is a sizable stack of finished books next to our computer. Oh yes, I am Cam’s Papa, and overheard this conversation yesterday morning:

“How are things today sweet pea?”

“Same old boring life Grammy. Nothing changes. Very little to do.”

“But Cam, didn’t you enjoy it when Papa and I met you and your Dad at the zoo the other day?”

“ That was all right, but it only lasted a short time. And now that I know how the animals feel being all caged up, I can’t have as much fun seeing them like that. I feel sorry for them.”

“Cam the signs at the zoo said that most of the animals will live longer there than if they were in the wild.”

“Grammy, you should understand better than that. Would you like to be happy for a short while, or miserable for a long time? They have feelings and families like us. Being shut in is never a good thing.”

--

--

John O'Neill
ILLUMINATION

Retired human services executive, living in Massachusetts near Boston, trying to be a better human being each day than the day before.