GRATITUDE | JOURNALING | DAILY DOABLE

Grateful for Difficult People?

And 3 reasons why it’s a good idea

Tim Maudlin
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readMay 16, 2020

--

Photo by NakNakNak on Pixabay

Are you grateful for “difficult” people in your life? Before I go any further, let’s consider what I mean by difficult.

I bet you can name individuals who get under your skin. You know, people who can be moody and hard to please. They could even be very opinionated. The word compromise is not in their vocabulary. Or at least it doesn’t seem so.

Am I suggesting you become best buds? Not necessarily. But hear me out.

Disclaimer: I believe we all should establish boundaries with the people we interact with. Unfortunately, some people are toxic and it’s not wise or safe to be around them. That’s not the type of person I’m talking about.

I’ll take a wild guess here and say that you probably don’t like to be around difficult people any more than I do.

Maybe you tolerate difficult people but can you say you are grateful for them?

Let’s park on this idea and consider why you could be grateful.

Reason #1: Could this be an opportunity for you to learn patience?

--

--

Tim Maudlin
ILLUMINATION

Podcaster | Storyteller | Journaling Coach | Want to Declutter Your Mind? I Encourage Creativity and Soul-Searching with the Power of Pen to Paper