Why I’m Growing My Medium Like A YouTube Channel

My Strategy For Growth That’s Not Centered On Curation

Alex Azra Pope
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Terje Sollie from Pexels

Whenever someone asks me to describe Medium, I tell them it’s like YouTube for writers.

Medium is a platform that allows anyone to use their freedom of expression through words. If you do well enough, you’ll be rewarded in cash and with a loyal following that can take your voice and brand anywhere.

People often give me puzzled looks when I make the YouTube/Medium analogy. After all, YouTube is audio-visual and Medium is a literary platform. These days, more persons prefer to watch rather than read, and that makes success on Medium even more difficult and significantly less comparable to YouTube.

But like every relatively new app and platform, I believe that once the general public discovers its value creators will be significantly rewarded. And that’s why I see Medium being the door for writers, just like YouTube was the pathway for many visual and audio creators.

I see Medium as the gatekeeper of a niche that has been underrepresented. Creatives and creators already have a difficult time marketing their work. It’s even more challenging for writers. They might as well not try. At least, that’s what close friends and family have told me for years.

--

--