Intermittent Fasting and Gut Health: Insights from a Systematic Review in Humans

I trust the recent evidence on gut health benefits from fasting and time-restricted eating because systematically refraining from food helped me heal my leaky gut when I was younger.

Dr Mehmet Yildiz
ILLUMINATION

--

Non-members can read this important story via my friend link.

Photo by Gustavo Fring from Pexels

Like billions of religious people throughout history, I have secularly known the benefits of fasting in gut health for a long time, as fasting helped me to heal my leaky gut (intestinal permeability). I also helped and inspired several relatives and friends to fix their leaky guts using time-restricted eating with support from their family doctors, who endorsed and guided their eating regimens. I wrote a summary of a case study in 2022. Fasting is now mainstream.

You may wonder what science says about it and whether these anecdotes are backed up by scientific studies. That’s why I wrote this short story: to give you valuable perspectives based on my intense research from growing literature. My goal is to inform my readers with evidence-based information from credible sources.

Emerging evidence in the growing literature suggests that time-restricted eating may positively…

--

--

Dr Mehmet Yildiz
ILLUMINATION

Scientist, Technologist, Inventor, focusing on HEALTH and JOY. Founder of ILLUMINATION, curating key messages for society. Connection: https://digitalmehmet.com