Happy-Go-Lucky

My Introduction story for ILLUMINATION

Alisha Baxter
ILLUMINATION
2 min readAug 27, 2020

--

Photo by Averie Woodard on Unsplash

I want to thank Dr Mehmet Yildiz for taking the time to acknowledge new writers like myself, and courteously welcoming us.

Writing for me was limited to occasional journaling until I recently joined Medium. I have never had an opportunity to introduce myself on a platform like this before. Awkwardness surrounds me when it comes to breaking the ice, and was in a dilemma about this task at hand. Ergo, I asked my brother to describe me in 3 points.

He said :

“A living meme.”

Relating small everyday incidents to memes is one of my guilty pleasures as a 90’s kid. Also, for always being goofy among family and friends, this title was bestowed upon me by my brother. Urban Dictionary defines memes as the cure for depression, so I couldn’t be more pleased.

“Someone who has got their shit together, but don’t, at the same time.”

The title. Duh!

I’m as confused as a chameleon in a bag of skittles when it comes to almost anything. Although, I try to (TRY TO) breeze through life as it comes, taking one day at a time.

“Ace dreamer.”

I’m an amateur periodontist by profession, yet the artist in me craves for more. A few months back, I made a list of things I want to potentially evolve into,

  • cosmetic dentist
  • boutique owner
  • interior decorator
  • painter
  • primary school educator
  • and now, a writer

You’re probably thinking, “Yikes! Can one person be all these things in one lifetime?”

I don’t know yet, although I would be happy being Jill of all trades, master of none.

If there is one thing that I’ve learned from my life so far, it is that —

Life is like a tube of toothpaste. You can always squeeze out a little bit more right when you think you can’t.

Lights will guide you home

And ignite your bones…

— Fix you by Coldplay

--

--

Alisha Baxter
ILLUMINATION

Quiet girl in a noisy world. Writing to express, not impress.