Happy One Year Medium Birthday to Me!

This writer’s July to July progress on Medium

Jennifer Fox, M.Ed., Ed.S.
ILLUMINATION

--

A hand holding out a single lit sparkler. Author used this image to connect to her celebration of one year on Medium.
Photo by Wout Vanacker on Unsplash

July is my birthday month on Medium, which happens to be my actual birthday month, too! Yes — happy birthday to me in more ways than one! I have come to understand through this year of writing and reading articles how to gain an audience. I am looking to reach new heights in my second year with this new understanding.

Three ways to gain an audience

So, how am I looking to gain a bigger audience and grow my earnings? Here are the ways I’ve learned to gain a better outcome.

  1. Publish in publications, not just on one’s own page. Publications that have already gathered a following increase your visibility. Intrigued when I discovered that anyone can make a publication, I made my own called Teacher Seasons where I publish content geared for a teacher audience. I have just 18 stories in this publication so far, but my hope is that I can make it a more impactful publication in the future with educators writing for me once I gain some traction.
  2. Push out articles midweek. Right now, I write one or two articles over the weekend and then hit publish as soon as they are completed. That’s not tactical; it’s impatient. Weekends are not the best time to push out articles statistically. I now plan to…

--

--

Jennifer Fox, M.Ed., Ed.S.
ILLUMINATION

Writer of topics from everyday life inspiration. My home is in Forsyth County, Georgia and my roots are in the Canal Zone, Panama. 20+ years as an educator.