Have You Been Feeling Terrible Lately?

Don’t worry, folks, I have got you!

Rimi Creates
ILLUMINATION
4 min readSep 18, 2023

--

Woman holding a smiley board
Image on freepik.com

First, I feel terrible about myself, and then I feel terrible for feeling terrible. — Myself

I often feel like a con artist who has mastered the art of putting on a fake smile and an invisible banner above her head that reads “I am absolutely fine, no, really, I am fine, and I want you to believe that lie”.

Trust me, I know what it feels like to go on with your day pretending like nothing is bothering you while deep inside you know your world is crumbling, and the increased palpitations against your chest never fail to remind you of the same.

I have been there.

And let me tell you, I still have my days when it’s too much to handle and find a balance. The feeling is unsettling, and at times it may feel like the sky is falling on you.

Hand drawn flat design of an overwhelmed man
Image by Pikisuperstar on freepik.com

But whenever such situations arise, do remember one thing: your feelings are not permanent.

They are valuable because they are yours, but they are just that — your feelings.

The voracious wave of long-buried emotions and uncommunicated thoughts, and it might make you uncomfortable and panicky.

Don’t resist it; don’t fight anymore. Let it in. Let it sit deep in your heart and mind. Acknowledge its power and the force with which it enters your space.

Your feelings have immense power, but they can never overpower you.

Your emotions are like seasons; they will come and go. You will have to dance with all the colors when the leaves fall in autumn, and you have to learn to embrace all the heat of summer. You have to immerse yourself in your favorite pumpkin latte in the dark yet calming ambiance of the winter nights.

Don’t beat yourself up for feeling terrible at times. We all feel that way at some point.

Remember, you are not alone in this!

We surround ourselves with tens, twenties, or even hundreds of people in our daily lives. We get up at home, have breakfast with our family, go to work, and mingle with our colleagues and bosses. On Saturday nights, we prefer chilling with a free beer or a fine wine in some nearby bar; sometimes we have friends along, and other times we happen to tune in with strangers whom we may not have met before.

Group of people standing in circle to each other
Image on freepik.com

All I want to say is that we see people all around us; we talk with them, eat together, party hard, and then get tipsy together, and some of them we sleep with and wake up with.

Yet there are times when we feel so lonely. Unappreciated. Unimportant. We feel overwhelmed.

We feel like there is no one with whom we can communicate our emotions freely and openly. We form a biased opinion that people simply won’t understand our problems, and hence we hold ourselves back even with our closed ones and start hiding our real emotions.

Therefore, I want to be the beacon of hope in my own little way to uplift and support others feeling the same way in their journeys through what we call life.

As I advocate being there for each other in our tough times, and as my about section reads, you don’t have to go through this all alone. If you’re reading this and want to reach out to a friend or simply a fellow human being who knows what it’s like to suffer in loneliness and despair, my inbox is open for you.

Just go ahead and send me a hello in the comments of any of my stories.

Thank you for taking the time to read my post. Before you go, I am a new writer on Medium, and if you like my work, you can follow me, leave some claps, or share your thoughts with me in the comments. There is more to come, so your support and feedback mean the world to me.

I know I’m not the best, but if you enjoyed my writing, would you like to buy me a coffee?👇

Help this student survive college!

Every bit of support coming my way means the world to me. No pressure! But if you can, please show your support with a tip. I don’t spend your $5 on some expensive ☕️ (I love coffee, but I’ve got to support myself first). P.S.: There are no Starbucks or McDonald’s in my town, so I can’t cheat. 😉

--

--

Rimi Creates
ILLUMINATION

Each new adventure explored and every unfamiliar path walked becomes a source of inspiration in my writing.