Have You Ever Lost A Friend?

From a teenager to another teenager
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readMar 16, 2024

People made songs, wrote poems for the boyfriend they broke up with, but I never understood any of that emotion. I always felt- ahhh! who cries over a “stupid “ breakup, it’s not the end of the world, it wasn’t the last guy they’ll meet right, then what’s all the fuzz over some breakup.

It was till I realized what’s worse than a breakup- Losing a friend.

Having friends feels good right, even if it’s just one friend, just one person you can call “your friend”, to whom you can rant everything, in front of whom you can be “You”.

Photo by the author, Deepanshi

Here’s what I wrote for a friend that isn’t exactly now a friend,,,,not a stranger but not even a friend-

To the lost part of my life, of me -

I still wonder what you’re doing right now

I still wonder if you’re still skipping meals, if you’re still not sleeping well, if you’re still sad from what I said

To the 2 years that I’ve known you, that I’ve been called “your best-friend”

To those moments that I still feel like living yesterday,

To every memory that’s still a part of me

From every laugh I shared with you, From every tear I cried with you

From every:

“I can’t go, I’m busy right now”

“Sorry, couldn’t call you back”

“Actually phone was on silent, didn’t see your texts”

“I didn’t expect this from you, it’s all your fault”

From the happiness that you gave me

From my every mistake that you corrected

From your every advice that helped me

To start ignoring you, ghosting you for weeks, to thinking you would notice and understand me this way,

To never talking to you again

To

“I wish I could call him right now, I wish I could tell him what happened with me today”

“I wish I could share this with him”

“I wish I could celebrate his birthday with him like last year”

And to the empty “thankyou” I received on your birthday

To the hope I still cling onto everyday

To the memories I still want to relive with you again

I’ll still wait for you, always

My friend

Share your story if you had ever undergone anything similar.

--

--

From a teenager to another teenager
ILLUMINATION

A 19 year old teenager. If you are also confused and struck like me too, do read my posts. Will be happy to have discussions about it.