He Talks While He Sleeps

Well, he did. I don’t know if he still does now.

Hilbeth Jean Melencion
ILLUMINATION
1 min readMar 29, 2023

--

Photo by Adi Goldstein on Unsplash

It is quarter to midnight now.

He is sleeping soundly on his side of our bed, while I was sitting on the edge of mine, completely indulged in reading a book.

“Hahaha”

I was interrupted with a gentle chuckle. I smiled, realizing it’s him having a good dream.

As I watched him, his chuckle turned into a genuine smile.

My heart beamed.

Oh I love this man so much!

I climbed toward him and whispered.

“I love you.”

As if on cue, and as if he heard me, he replied.

“I love you.”

At this point, his smile is much wider. He said those words so affectionately, they chimed on my ears and onto my heart.

Oh, I so love this man.

I kissed him on his cheek.

He bulged, turned his face towards me, and smiled. Again with those heart melting smile.

“I love you, Venice. I love you so.”

My heart skipped beating.

My name is not Venice.

Yes, he does talk while he sleep. But not to me. Not with me. Not for me.

He talks in his sleep, with Venice.

--

--

Hilbeth Jean Melencion
ILLUMINATION

I am just a curious little curio. A graduate of Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering.