Word prompt flash fiction

He Wasn’t Standing Where He Was Supposed To Be

…but Billy was

Susan Foster
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readApr 18, 2021

--

Image by author, Susan Foster via The Most –of Every Moment

This piece of fiction was written using word prompts. See below for more details.

He Wasn’t Standing Where He Was Supposed To Be

I rushed to the door and darted out from beneath the shop canopy into the street. Behind me, in hot pursuit, was the cashier. Despite his age, he was almost as fast as me, thanks to my gimpy gait. Minutes earlier, he watched me sneak a chocolate bar from the candy aisle into my pocket.

Like a well-oiled machine, this was all working out just as I’d planned. Earlier this morning, I stomped down hard on a rose stem from my mother’s garden, making sure a thorn punctured the ball of my foot. This made me limp, causing soreness with every step. It was so important that I be viewed as a bit of a charity case. Nothing, not even pain, was too much to endure for the end result.

The cashier caught up to me, grabbed my arm, and shouted, “Show me what’s in your pocket. I saw you take that chocolate bar. You can’t steal stuff and expect to get away with it.”

I hopped two steps and leaned against the wall of a nearby building, holding my injured foot pitifully off the ground. It throbbed intensely after…

--

--

Susan Foster
ILLUMINATION

Susan lives in Montana with her husband and a clever Jenga-playing dog. The author of a regrettably neglected blog, she hopes to publish her debut novel soon.