Hell is The Earth

Writer Thinker and More
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readApr 8, 2024
Photo by Ian Stauffer on Unsplash

Hell. The dimension in Abrahamic languages is where the worst of us end up, where suffering and colossal pain are inflicted on us. This is where the notion of hell started

However, nowadays we use hell more casually. If a car crosses a red light, a person might scream “Go to hell!” to the driver. When you’re not sure what happened or surprised you might say “What the hell?”. Hell is now part of our modern language.

Nonetheless, the concept of hell I want to refer to is that of suffering. This hell is the place where we picture flames and spiked surfaces. Does this hell truly exist?

Well, Yes and no.

Whenever I hear the word hell I am reminded of Sisyphus rolling a rock up a hill and as soon as he reaches the top, he is back at the bottom. That is hell for me. Working and working to no avail. This is in my head eternal suffering.

I am writing this to tell you that Hell is the Earth. Ever since we are born, we work towards a goal and as soon as we reach it, the happiness of achieving this goal fades away after a few seconds. Afterward, we are back to start working towards a different goal.

We are insatiable creatures. We carry all seven deadly sins, and the sin that creates this hell is our greed. We are greedy and we are never satisfied with what we achieve. Like Sisyphus, we carry our boulders toward the top of the hill only to realize we are pushing a larger boulder to the top of a large mountain. The struggle is never-ending.

If this isn’t enough to convince you. We are also slaves to our emotions. We have very little control over our lives; external factors can ruin our lives in mere seconds. So, what is left for hell to offer if a person lives the most horrible life on Earth? We’ve all heard about it: human trafficking, rape, murder of loved ones, torture, and many other unimaginable pains many unfortunate people go through. What’s left in hell?

Hell is the Earth and we are the demons.

Thank you for reading!
I know this is a very pessimistic and depressing read; however, there was a time when I felt this strongly. I personally believe we can overcome this hell by giving our minds control over our happiness, but to a certain degree, we not not be able to and that’s alright. We shall live on Earth trying our best to enjoy it.

If you’d like to read more of my thoughts, please follow me on Writer Thinker and More. I enjoy writing stories, thoughts, and poetry!

--

--

Writer Thinker and More
ILLUMINATION

I write for myself :). BE in Mechanical Engineering and MSc in Power Engineering.