Photo by Daria Nepriakhina on Unsplash

Here’s How to Get Your Cold DM’s Read and Responded To

I’ve received hundreds of DMs. The ones I’ve answered are all similar.

Nick Nolan
Published in
5 min readMar 3, 2022

--

Last year I was super active on LinkedIn. I posted as much as I could, and it helped me grow my business and connect with some great people. I still think LinkedIn is a great place to grow any type of business or side hustle.

Gary Vee has told you for years that you need to be on LinkedIn because there’s still some organic reach there.

It’s gotten busier since 2020 and 2021, but there’s still plenty of opportunities.

I’m haven’t been too active on LinkedIn because I’m busy with a million other projects, and it would be more of a distraction than a help.

If you’ve ever been on LinkedIn, or any other social media platform, you know that you get bombarded with direct messages. These people want to sell you their product or service. It’s popular on LinkedIn to send an automated message after connecting with someone.

Honestly, I think that’s a terrible idea. If you want to sell me something, take 15 seconds and write a personalized message yourself. Better yet, read a few of my posts and get to know me before reaching out.

--

--

Nick Nolan
ILLUMINATION

Freelance marketing consultant | Writing about Copywriting, SEO, and Social Media