Here’s What to Do When You Don’t Feel Expert Enough

Feeling like you’re not good enough while everyone else seems like an expert?

Sathishiam
ILLUMINATION
2 min readJun 24, 2024

--

source: adobe

Here’s the catch. You are feeling that I’m not good enough at (something you think of) right?

Do any of the following resonate with you?

  • I’m not good at writing.
  • I’m not good at communication skill.
  • I’m not good at networking.
  • I’m not good at marketing.
  • I’m not good at learning a new skill.

The biggest doubt everyone should overcome is “I’m not good at this.” This feeling alone stops many dreams from happening.

You won’t feel confident until you take action.

  • Watching people swim won’t make you feel like a swimmer; you need to dive in and swim.
  • You won’t feel good at public speaking until you stand up and give a speech.
  • You won’t feel ready for an interview until you give it a shot.

OK.

Let me be clear:

You either know something or you don’t. If you know half of what you want to know, you still know half. Partial knowledge is still knowledge.

Think of a tumbler filled halfway. How you see it matters.

  • Is it half full?
  • Or is it half empty?

Life is a work in progress. You won’t feel like I know everything about this topic.

Even masters and experts in any field are still learning. There’s no final destination where you feel completely proficient.

You can only say, “I’m improving in this skill,” and, “I’m making progress.”

Don’t let this feeling kill your dream.

What Next?

Here’s a step-by-step approach when you’re not feeling good at something:

  1. Start doing it anyway.
  2. Experiment with what you already know.
  3. Remember, failure is part of the process.
  4. Try again after each setback.
  5. Learn from your mistakes and adjust your approach.
  6. Finally, succeed.

Thanks for your valuable time. Happy reading!

If you found this post valuable, subscribe to my newsletter for a step-by-step guide to achieving online success.

Don’t forget to hit follow for Sathishiam.

--

--

Sathishiam
ILLUMINATION

Experimenting what I'm learning from others & sharing the results. Writing about productivity, self-development, books, side-hustling, digital marketing.