Hero’s Path-Embers of Love and Hate

Liv Ramirez
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min read20 hours ago

--

Free image by StockCake

Ma’am, can you tell me how the fire started?

The officers voice fades beneath the shattering glass

The windows to our home fracture under the stress of the heat

The heat of the flames fills me with its warmth

Hugged in my newfound strength

In its embrace I remember for the last time the weight of my pain

Weight of my tears, as I lay in the agony you created

Remember how I sobbed quietly, afraid to wake you

How it felt to watch you sleep peaceful

Those hands tucked beneath your chin

The hands that once held my worth

Hands that showed love

Showed hate

Did you know there is a fine line between the two?

I had always imagined a stranger would come.

Someone to give me a power meant for me

A gift beyond dreams

Strength few could comprehend

With this I would find my escape

Find the missing pieces

Shattered by your hands

--

--