Humor

Hiding in Plain Sight

The Steve the Squirrel saga continues

Isabel Villasmil, MRes.
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readJun 8, 2024

--

Image created by author using Ideogram AI.

Does anyone remember the TV show The Land of the Giants from the late 60s? You know, where a group of humans landed on a strange planet inhabited by… Um, giant humans?

Well, that’s exactly how I feel every time I see one of those gigantic humans looking at me while I’m eating the tasty treats they leave for us on what they call “bird feeders.”

Why do they call it a bird feeder? God knows. We call’em squirrels’ drive-thrus.

If you don’t know what I’m talking about, you are out of luck. The number of pages written about ME only continues to grow and I’ll provide the links at the end.

The short version is that I was defending my tree from this giant human, whom I later learned was called Marcus Musick, and he had written a twisted version of the events.

Then Isabel Villasmil, MRes. was kind enough to lend me her platform, and Sophia Tell-Stories 🤓📢🤓 convinced me to sue him for all he’s got (which we won!)

To get my mental health in check — because this has been a most stressful ordeal for me, Bette A. Ludwig 🔍 PhD recommended I go to therapy, which was extremely helpful in getting over my fear of giants and my obsession with acorns.

--

--

Isabel Villasmil, MRes.
ILLUMINATION

Conservation biologist gone writer. Sharing my experiences in life and as a former scientist who worked in forests worldwide.