Life Lesson

Hiding Won’t Work

In human emotions, anger and sadness often stay hidden

Charlene Ann Mildred
ILLUMINATION

--

Shame, shyness or . Girl hiding face with hair — Photo by Gal2007 from CANVA PRO

Beneath a veneer of composure, they hide.

I, too, have curated such a gallery.

In it, I hid my true feelings from the world’s prying eyes. But through life’s lessons, I’ve discovered an inescapable truth: hiding won’t work.

For years, I mastered the science of concealment. I tucked it away under a calm exterior when my anger bubbled like a tumultuous sea. I masked my sadness with a smile as if I could paint on joy like a layer of makeup. I believed this art form was my shield. It protected me from judgment, vulnerability, and the core of being human.

But what was the cost of such mastery?

Friendships were only superficial.

Relationships could have been more fulfilling.

Like a plant deprived of sunlight, hindrances stunted personal growth. It took a lot of energy to keep this facade. It left little room for real connections or joy.

The turning point came, a moment of revelation that illuminated the path I had long avoided. I faced personal and professional challenges. They felt like a relentless storm during a tough time. In my usual manner, I attempted to hide my turmoil to soldier on undeterred.

During a conversation with a close friend, the facade cracked. A simple question, “How are you feeling?” was vital to unlocking the floodgates I had maintained. The emotions I had hidden — anger, sadness, frustration — spilled out, raw and unfiltered.

To my surprise, the story didn’t end.

My friend didn’t recoil in horror or judge me for my vulnerability. Instead, we had understanding, empathy, and a connection. It deepened in a way I had never felt. It was a lesson: in showing my true self, I was not weaker but stronger, not isolated but connected.

This personal thing in my head prompted me to explore the concept of vulnerability. Research led me to the work of Dr. Brené Brown. She is a famous researcher and author. She defines vulnerability as the feeling during uncertain and risky times. People expose emotions. According to Brown, vulnerability is not a weakness. It is a brave step toward making real connections. It is a step toward living a whole, wholehearted life.

Studies in psychology and neuroscience support this view. They show that being vulnerable can lead to better relationships. It can also lead to more empathy and improved mental health. Our brains wire us for connection, and authenticity unlocks this human need.

Vulnerability…

…has been one that requires continuous effort and self-reflection. I’ve learned that hiding my emotions doesn’t protect me; it isolates me. By sharing my feelings, I invite others to do the same. This creates a space where real connections can grow.

This has also led to an understanding of myself. I’ve learned about my needs, limits, and values. I did this by admitting and showing my emotions. This self-awareness has empowered me, guided my decisions, and led me to a more fulfilling life.

Making vulnerability a practice involves several steps. It starts with self-acceptance. We must recognize that our emotions are part of us. You should not feel ashamed of them. It takes courage to share these parts of ourselves. And, to be honest, even when we risk judgment or rejection.

Listening is important.

Vulnerability fosters connections when they’re reciprocal. We build trust and encourage openness by showing empathy and understanding toward others.

Being vulnerable has benefits.

They go beyond personal growth. They affect every part of our lives. In relationships, being vulnerable fosters closeness and trust. It creates strong bonds in tough times. In the workplace, it encourages creativity and innovation. People feel safe to share their ideas and take risks. It builds community solidarity and understanding. It bridges divides and fosters belonging.

Fear often stands in the way — fear of rejection, judgment, and not being enough. You can overcome these ingrained fears with mindfulness and practice. It begins with small steps:

I am sharing a story with a friend.

I am expressing an unpopular opinion in a meeting.

You are allowing yourself to feel and acknowledge your emotions without judgment.

As we practice vulnerability, we also learn to cope with the discomfort it brings. We become more resilient, adaptable, and open to the ebbs and flows of life. This resilience is not born from an absence of fear but from the courage to face it head-on.

Creating environments that encourage vulnerability is essential — creating spaces that value openness. People practice empathy. People support each other in sharing their true selves. These spaces could be in families, friendships, workplaces, or communities. Creating a culture that accepts and celebrates vulnerability is essential. It’s a pathway to connection and understanding.

This is an age of social media. Curated perfection dominates it. Vulnerability is a radical act. It’s choosing authenticity in a way that often rewards the superficial. Sharing our authentic, unfiltered selves can be daunting, but it’s also mighty. It breaks the illusion of perfection. It fosters real connections, even in small spaces. The path of vulnerability is not a destination but evolving. As we grow and change, so do our experiences of vulnerability. It requires ongoing effort, a commitment to self-reflection, and a willingness to grow.

But the rewards are enormous.

It’s a life lived, rich with connections and genuine happiness.

Please subscribe here to receive the latest insightful stories by email.

Did you find this enjoyable? If so, remember to hit the clap button, which you can press up to 50 times and comment. Take advantage of more from me — ensure you’re following if you still need to. Thank you for being an integral part of my journey.

--

--

Charlene Ann Mildred
ILLUMINATION

I'm a writer and content creator who loves to share tips on how to maximize your productivity. Email: charleneannmildredfbarroga@gmail.com