High flying sofa surfer

I’m never going back to the rat race

Nasar Karim
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by NeONBRAND on Unsplash

Sitting on my sofa
I’m a highly focused loafer
This is my reading hour
Where I top up my brain power.

It may look like I’m just lazy
But the rest of you are crazy
I don't go anywhere
I can do it all from here.

They’re all rushing around
I’m happier lying down
Did everyone forget
That we’ve got internet?

I can't pretend I miss the rush,
Or the early morning crush
I enjoy living like this better
Living room go-getter!

At lunch, I get my thrill
Turning on my grill
Eat-in, my favourite meal
For a fraction of the bill.

No idiots or jokers
To interrupt my focus
No trying to please the boss
Who doesn’t really give a toss.

No more pointless posing
No more brown-nosing
No more two-faced greetings
No more pointless meetings.

No one else’s bottom line
I’m only minding mine
I have my life on track
And I’m never going back.

--

--

Nasar Karim
ILLUMINATION

BSc Psychology. Author of Myshi Moo and the Frightening Face.